I hate them.
I have grown disdainful of the fact that people need specific days of the year to implement "family" time. And even those days end up being stressful and irritating.
Why do people need one specific day of the year to be thankful? Shouldn't we learn to be thankful 365 days of the year? Rather than just one day which ends up being ineffective due to the fact that Thanksgiving is a holiday where those who can afford to, (and those who can't go bankrupt trying...) gorge themselves selfishly on meat and fats? The sheer gluttony of the holiday should indicate the irony in its "give thanks" aim, let alone the fact that it is a holiday that arose from a time where our beloved white ancestors were busy decimating a nation people.
And then after Gluttony day we have Giftmas. What a holiday THAT has become! Instead of gorging ourselves with food we covet and buy material items...Yet another opportunity to practice our selfishness. Way-to-go, Christians!
It's true that not everyone indulges in all aforementioned aspects of these holidays. Many don't celebrate them at all and some of the ones that do, may try to keep their intentions true. But my other grudge with the "holidays" is the stress that they bring about. Just in general. People are frantically running around "preparing" for these holidays and they get GRUMPY. And they yell at each other. And they guilt trip their family members into spending the holidays with them. And they spend lots of money to get ready for all this, which makes them even crankier. People are not nice to each other this time of the year. And that fact alone makes the irony unbearable for me.
Even my own friends who I've opted to share Thanksgiving with (rather than my own dramatic family) are not communicating or appreciative of the hard work that goes into preparing a meal.
I work full time.
I go to school full time.
My heart is aching.
And now people I considered close friends, suck.
And so here I am, becoming the cranky people I just spoke of. Yahoo, another successful Thanksgiving.
I give up.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment